Acorn Squash Bread

IMG_0193

Apparently I couldn’t even wait to take a photograph before taking a bite! I don’t know if the photo does justice to the beautifully speckled yellow-orange of the bread. Even mashed, the acorn squash ribbons the mixture wonderfully. I must give credit for this moment of genius to my dearest friend Jenni, and to the many conversations we have recently had about acorn squash. She’s an amazing cook, and sends me regular updates about the amazing things bubbling in her kitchen. And she has been ALL praise for acorn squash this season. So I roasted some over the weekend. I was spring (I wish) cleaning this afternoon and found leftover (unsalted) roasted squash in my fridge. I decided to adapt my go-to banana bread recipe. And good grief am I pleased.

I finished my one and only final exam today, and there is no greater celebration than to sit down to a delicious cup of coffee as something heavenly bakes in the oven.

Acorn Squash Bread
(adapted from a banana bread recipe from Epicurious from a million years ago)

Ingredients
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup mushed roasted acorn squash
1/3 cup buttermilk or 1/3 cup plain yoghurt watered to buttermilk consistency
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
a pinch nutmeg

1. Grease a bread tin and preheat your oven to 325 F.

2. Beat together the eggs and sugar (about 5 minutes).

3. Add the squash, buttermilk, oil and vanilla and whisk.

4. Mix in the dry ingredients.
[Apparently we need to sift the flour–I must admit I never sift anything. And in matters as basic as a version of banana bread, let’s face it: it’s pretty impossible to make a mess of it. I mean this is not a macoron or a souffle. There is a different moment for the erudition required for making those! And that moment is not today.]

5. Then add seasoning. I love cinnamon and nutmeg. I imagine all-spice would be delicious too.

6. Bake in the oven for 50-60 minutes. My oven is smaller and I find it only requires about 45-50 minutes, though the recipe calls for an hour.

7. Do your best to let the beautiful rectangle of gold cool before turning it out of the tin and eating a steaming slice (as i did) with a hot cup of coffee.

God bless the freedom to compose run-on sentences.

4 thoughts on “Acorn Squash Bread

Leave a Reply

